Hide this page

Local Advice Finder

Find local services

+ Reply to Thread

flattering clothes for short people

hello

does anyone know what type of clothes are flattering for short people?
    im only about 5ft and my legs are like two tree stumps and dont seem to look good in anything! my torso is actually quite a normal size though but i have big boobs so i dont know what sorts of tops etc i should be wearing either.

ooh yeah, and do short legs look longer if a skirt ends below the knees or just above?? its just that i want to buy a nice plain black skirt for my hols in a few weeks and i want to get one (IF i can find one that fits me) that makes me look taller and slimmer even im not very good with this stuff

and also, does anyone know of any shops that stock petite sizes?? im having difficulty finding a nice pair of jeans that DONT need to be shortened about 6 inches every time i buy a pair!! i know principles, dorothy perkins and next do petite sizes but their range of clothes is pretty small

Last edited by girl with sharp teeth; 30-11-2008 at 05:36 PM.
    all I need
    is somewhere I
    can feel the grass beneath my feet
    walk on sand
    a fire I can warm my hands
    my joy will be complete

_guest Guest
    I'm pretty short myself (5'2" last I checked) and I have to add a hearty "amen" to GWST's (by way of T&S) advice about trousers that fall to the bottom of your heel. Sweet Jesus, the amount of short(ish) women I see walking about with these trousers that only come halfway down their heel...or even only come down to their ankle. If that's your "thing" then fair enough, but it's seriously unflattering to those of us with shorter legs (and everything) than we'd like!

Heels are a very obvious idea, although a big pain in the arse to wear on a regular basis. This season is great for stacked heels/wedges, which are generally more comfortable to wear, easily to move in, and very flattering.